October 8th, 2009
05:53 PM ET

Timeline: Same-sex marriage legislation by state

[cnn-photo-caption image=http://i2.cdn.turner.com/cnn/2009/POLITICS/05/26/same.sex.states/art.same.sex.marriage.jpg.jpg caption="Four states - Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Iowa - currently allow same-sex marriages."]

National Conference of Senate Legislators

State Legislatures and courts have struggled with the issue of same sex relationships for more than ten years now. Click here to view the timeline that covers recent events beginning with the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court decision in November 2003 that held rules and laws barring same sex marriages to be unconstitutional.

Filed under: Same-Sex Marriage
soundoff (One Response)
  1. Deb C

    If someone loves and wants to be with someone, who are we to judge. Leave them alone. Love is love.

    October 8, 2009 at 8:18 pm |